MedConnect’s Board of Directors

The MedConnect Conference is being organized by a team of undergraduate students from Phi Delta Epsilon International Medical Fraternity, Canada Beta Chapter at Simon Fraser University, in collaboration with medical students from the University of British Columbia. Below, you can learn more about our diverse and experienced event team working hard to create another successful MedConnect on November 23rd, 2019.


Jessica Seemann – Executive Director

Jessica Seemann is a third year SFU student majoring in Biomedical Physiology. She hopes to pursue a career in medicine, specializing in forensic pathology. She is driven by her passion to help others, both locally and abroad. This passion has motivated her to help organize fundraisers for BC Children’s Hospital, peer tutor chemistry, and take on an executive role in SFU First Responders. It also inspired her to travel to India this past summer to volunteer in a medical outreach program. Outside of school, she is a dance teacher, teaching intro ballet to ages 2 through 9.


Daria – Senior Advisor

Daria is a third year student pursuing a BSc in Health Sciences at Simon Fraser University. She hopes to some day work as a Pediatric physician. In Phi Delta Epsilon Canada Beta Chapter, Daria is the acting president. Her previous roles included Social Media Coordinator, Academic Coordinator, and member of the Philanthropy committee. Daria has always been passionate about giving back to her community and has held various volunteer positions over the years. Currently, she volunteers at BC Children’s hospital and as an executive with the SFU Blood for Life club. She also fundraises for the Make a Wish foundation through their Rope For Hope event. In addition to her studies and volunteering, Daria also works at her local bookstore and tutors school aged children.


Vanessa Kelly – Programming Director

Vanessa Kelly is a science student at Simon Fraser University. Already holding a Bachelor of Fine Arts, she decided to return to school as a mature student to pursue medicine as a career change. Finding a warm welcome in Phi Delta Epsilon, Vanessa joins the MedConnect team as the Programming Director focusing on event programming.


Maya – Logistics Director

Bio Coming Soon!


Elyssa Bingham – Marketing Director

Elyssa is a second year student majoring in Actuarial Science with a minor in Contemporary Arts focusing on sound production. She hopes to pursue a career in medicine, specifically psychiatry. Her work as a behavioural interventionist working with kids diagnosed with ASD has led her to find her passion for helping people. This year she has joined the MedConnect team to educate others on non-traditional pathways to medicine, including majors outside pre-med such as her own. She hopes to encourage everyone to follow their own unique career path rather than conform to expected social norms.


Taranjot – Communications and Plenary Director

Bio Coming Soon!


MedConnect’s Past Event Directors

Our Event Directors for the MedConnect Conference 2018 are captured below.

Screen Shot 2019-08-25 at 7.17.59 PM
[Top Left to Bottom Right] Stephanie Dong (Programming Director), Daria Elrick  (Plenary and Branding Director), Tiffany Barszczewski (Recruitment and Experience Director), Donyanaz Divsalar (Senior Advisor), Jessica Seemann (Logistics Director), Zara Jeffrey (Executive Director)
Our Event Directors, Case Study Facilitators, and Student Ambassadors for the MedConnect Conference 2017 are pictured here.

Image may contain: 27 people, people smiling, people standing and indoor

Our Official Event Directors for the MedConnect Conference 2016 can be seen below. Special thanks to the Interactive Challenge Coordinators, Alli Jussila and Valeriya Zaborska, and the Alpha-Epsilon Class of Phi Delta Epsilon SFU.

[Top Left to Bottom Right] Nathan Chatron (Experience Director), Stephanie Dong (Logistics Director), Laura Dawson (Communications Director),  Natasha Smith (Recruitment Director), Breanna Lansdell (Plenary Director),  Abhishek Lakhra (Sponsorship Director), Lisa Haroldson (Finance Director), Tia Young (Branding Director), Henry Tran (Internal Director) Donyanaz Divsalar (Executive Director), David Luu (Programming Director), Ryan Calasin (External Director)